I Was Late For An Important Date…

I saw my twitter account explode yesterday in celebration of National Coming Out day.  Gays, straights, single men/women, mothers, all blowing up my Twitter, telling me they are “coming out” to celebrate and support The Gays.  My heart was overjoyed and I thought to myself, “I have a super awesome story to tell in regards to coming out (or lack there of), I need to share it with everyone.”  However, this coming out story I wanted to tell was also entwined with me getting myself completely shit faced the night before, so I was not in a position to write anything, let alone anything coherent.

So, my apologies to everyone, as this is a day late.  However I promise to make it interesting.

Sunday night my brother and I (we both work together) were at a company meeting near Columbus.  At these overnight company meetings there is always free alcohol.  God bless them.  I will normally drink one or two to get myself drunk (I’m a cheap date, what can I say?) but not to the point where I’m nearly blind and stumbling about like a raging alcoholic.  However, this Sunday was a little different.

We met another person at the meeting.  We shall call him Bob.  I got a sneaking suspicion that he was gay, but I blew it off, as he was married and even had his 16 year old son with him at the party.  Bob decided that my brother and I needed to drink more.  And more.  And more.  At the end of the night, I had 10 drinks consisting of beer, whiskey sours, and also Manhattans.  Needless to say, I was beyond drunk.  At one point during the evening I went to the bathroom and had to call my brother on my cell phone to get directions back to where everyone was.

However, the particulars of the evening isn’t important (they are a hoot, but I won’t belabor this post with such.  If you’re interested, I’ll tell you the particulars of my molesting in an email, as they are comical).  The point is that Bob was getting my brother and I drunk so that he could have sex with us.  Bob, the married guy for 20 years and his 16 year old kid with him, wanted to be involved with us, in the biblical sense.  Actually, he was more interested in my brother.  I’ve never been used by another man to get to my straight brother.  It’s a special sort of cheap feeling that really makes you feel like a respectable lady.  But, I digress.

I thanked my brother the next morning, as I was wondering how my aim was so bad I threw up on the bathroom wall, for stopping me.  I’m sure I  would have slept with him because I was so inebriated.  Well, at the very least, I would have passed out naked and he would have sodomized me.  But there would have been sex had, even if I wasn’t conscious enough to enjoy it.

So, what does this have to do with National Coming Out day?

It saddens me to see people, in this day of age, to pretend that they are straight.  Here we are, trying to fight for equal rights, and you have these assholes taking the easy way out.  Can they not see that, by staying concealed, that people would just think that we’re hiding from something, that we’re ashamed of who and what we are?  Don’t they see that, by being open, people around them think to themselves “Hey, maybe The Gays aren’t that bad?”  Don’t they see what they are doing to their spouse, cheating on them and potentially bringing STDs into their relationship?

It got me thinking yesterday, as I was freaking out because I was still drunk when I woke up, that if blacks could just “hide who they were,” would their acceptance be as high as it is today?  Not to say that it’s perfect by any stretch of the imagination.  But it’s a hell of a lot better then the segregation/get to the back of the bus nonsense.

Maybe, just maybe, if all of The Gays would stand up and proudly announce their queerness to the world, that people would look at us, not as freaks and deviates of nature, but as just normal people.

Leave a Reply

