Why Am I Fucking Apologizing?

I’m really starting to hate Facebook.  There, I’ve said it.  I fucking hate you, Facebook.  I was perfectly happy not knowing the full reaches of my real life associate’s stupidity.  I didn’t need to know that they think it’s SUPER. DUPER. IMPORTANT. to copy and paste generic prayers to Jesus on their Facebook status, urging others to do the same.  We all know that Jesus reads our Facebook statuses.  And it’s always SUPER.  DUPER.  IMPORTANT.  that everyone else knows that you’re copy and pasting a generic prayer that you don’t have the capacity to write yourself, as you’re too busy trying to bite your own face.

I hate seeing your fucking games on Facebook.  I don’t want to see you posting about how you joined this game, how you’ve gained a level, and I definitely don’t want to see how you need JUST A FEW MORE NAILS to complete your barn on Farmville.  Truly, this is what the Bible spoke about when giving details of the end times.  Farmville is the Anti-Christ, bitches!

But you know what really sets me off?  I mean, really sends me into a mouth-frothing frenzy?  I posted a link on Facebook for people to either call or send a form letter to their senator, urging them to repeal Don’t Ask Don’t Tell.  I figure I’m in the middle of Ohio, it’s the least I can do.

And you know what?  I actually had someone post below the link, stating that they thought that DADT was good for now for the “safety of the gays.”  Or, he felt that they could repeal DADT if they would make segregated gay units within the military like what they used to do with black people.  Because, you know, us gays need protection.

So, I sat there and was responding back to the person, telling him, in a nut shell, what he’s trying to sell is complete and utter nonsense.  No other military that has allowed openly gay and lesbians serve in the military has really had any issues to note of and that the survey showed that no one gave two shits if their peers were gay.

But most disturbingly, I found myself apologizing throughout the thing, telling him I was sorry to disagree, but….

You know what, I’m done apologizing for your stupidity.  If I want to serve in the military and be open about my sexuality, then WHO ARE YOU to demand that I keep my mouth shut?  For my safety?  If I want to risk being out and serve my country, WHO THE HELL DO YOU THINK YOU ARE to tell me otherwise?  Are you SERIOUSLY suggesting that we turn back the clock and segregate the military?  What the fuck does this look like?  The 1950’s?  Every minority faces the plight of being the brunt of the “Straight, White Man” and his bullying.  We deal with it every day, why THE FUCK does it make sense to bow to their hatred in a military situation?

You have the same mentality as Senator John fucking McCain.  You have this very thorough report, showing there will be none to minimal impact on the operations of the military to allow gays to serve openly in the military.  It’s just that you just don’t fucking care.  You’re so wrapped up in your grand delusions of segregation, fear mongering, and Farmville that you just don’t.  fucking.  care.

I’m done dealing with your crazy ass shit.  I’m done with fucking apologizing to you.  And I’m done with your generic lip-service prayers.  You, dear sir, need more help then I can ever, ever give you.

16 responses to “Why Am I Fucking Apologizing?

  1. Oh, hell yes. This rant warms the cockles of my heart. Not that I have a heart, of course.

  2. Dear Mr. Cornfield,

    It is with every fibre of my body, every ounce of my being that I enthusiastically agree with:

    – each
    – and
    – every
    – word

    You posted in this blog. However, you have, to a degree, understated my personal loathing for facebook, and the mindless, hollow hellvoid that it is.

    Oh and DADT, is same. Proof that we should not be shocked that is only a few decades since segregation, australias stolen generation and endless stupidity.

    Oh the stupid, it burns!

    Keep up the outstanding work!

  3. I find the happiest days of my life are the ones in which I avoid facebook. It is unnerving to me how many stupid people I know. Sorry that you appear to have the same plight.

  4. Yes. Yes. A hundred thousand times, yes.

    If someone in government actually said that black people should go back to being segregated in the military, Jessie Jackson and the Rainbow Coalition would burn the Capitol building down within a week. And rightfully so.

    People need to A: Get their collective heads out of their collective asses.
    B: Stop being douchenozzles on Facebook.

    Which would pretty much be the end of Facebook. Not that that’s a bad thing.
    Ahem.

  5. The ignorant piss me off more than the stupid.

  6. You’re my fucking hero

  7. I love this post. And I love the idea of not being sorry to disagree. I’m going to start saying, “I’m sorry you’re such an idiot and I have to disagree”.

  8. A-FUCKING-MEN!!!! I hide or unfriend those ignorant fuckers. What I really just love is when the anti-bullying statuses were going around…at the end it says, “re-post this OR ELSE!!” Um, that’s bullying MORON.

  9. I’m a little behind in my reading – and for that I’m sorry. I’m glad to say that by the time I actually got around to reading this post – that indeed DADT is a thing of the past. Thankfully. I believe that my friends, my family, and my future generations have every right to serve (or not serve) this country in a voluntary military regardless of their race, color, gender, sexual orientation or religion…and now they can do so and not have to lie about who they truly are or who they’ve had to leave back home in order to do so. Every once in a while, this government does get something right…eventually. Well said!!

  10. see — i adore facebook, for a couple of things.

    I LOATHE it for many more. My friend’s son (our babysitter) and his moronic illiterate girlfriend and their on again off again-beat-my-brain-out-idiocy-

    EVERY ever loving game-meme-post-this-if-you-love-jesus-black-red-boobs-chilis-food-having a house-the color blue— etc…. etc… etc….

    arg.

    you, though. I adore.

  11. I was just having a conversation with a friend about the ability of Facebook to sweep us back to high school and the feelings of angst it produces. If I wasn’t connecting with family–whom I adore–I would be done with it.

    I think I love you, man!
    xo Susie

Leave a Reply

